A Things That Shine Pocket Page

Hi everyone!  Today I’m excited to share with you my very first pocket page and I created it with items from Ashley Calder and the Things That Shine Kits.

When I look at Ashley’s kits I see so many possibilities: traditional layouts, cards, art journals, Project Life, etc.  Even though I don’t do Project Life I am intrigued by the process and have wanted to try some pocket page scrapping for myself.  I had recently done two layouts from the same camping trip, but I still had some photos left that I really liked.  One layout #catch was for JBS and the other You Love to Camp was for Things That Shine, so I blended the look of both layouts using mostly items from the First Days of Summer kit and the Electric Blue and Neon Green Color packs and created and insert using the Becky Higgins Design A pocket page.

Here’s the front:DSCN3777

Here’s the back:

DSCN3797

Details:DSCN3786This super cute camera stamp, star and green washi is from the First Days of Summer kit.  I love this little camera and stamped it on some patterned book print paper to give it more texture and depth.  I adhered the star to the outside of the pocket page.

DSCN3784

I created some of the 3×4 cards with leftover patterned paper from the two original layouts.  This is a sort of a title card with thickers and stitching around the edges.

DSCN3782

This corrugated tag and colorful twine is from the First Days of Summer kit.  It lays over and envelope (also from the kit) that you can see from the other side.  I was so excited to make a see through shaker pocket which you can see a peak of here. It contains sequins from the Electric Blue Color pack.

DSCN3803

Here is that pretty envelope from the First Days of Summer kit.  I just trimmed it so it would fit the pocket and stitched the bottom closed.  It holds the business card from the candy store I refer to in the journaling.  I added three gems from the Neon Green Color pack to the fun shaker pocket.

DSCN3800

This pretty little fabric heart is from the First Days of Summer kit.  I added it to the outside of the pocket and I just love the dimension it brings to the page.

DSCN3805

This tag, thread, and this sweetest little camera charm also comes in the First Days of Summer kit.  The 3 relates to the three trees and the journaling from above.

Here are the two layout this insert goes with.  I can’t wait to get them all together in my album.

DSCN3667

DSCN3769

I had so much fun doing this pocket page, I already have plans for another one.  With all the bits and pieces that come in the kits from the Things That Shine you can customize  and personalize pocket page filler cards that you have, make your own unique and beautiful cards, and embellish your photos.  Visit Ashley’s etsy shop by clicking here to see all the shiney goodness for yourself.

One last thing, I just have to give a shout out to Niru and Stephanie., two project lifers that I follow.  Their beautiful PL spreads are what inspired me to try pocket page scrapping for myself.  Yay!!

Thanks so much for stopping by and see ya soon for more shiney projects!

Also, I am linked up at Paper Issues new issue, Say Cheese and on Niru’s blog.

🙂   Evie

 

About artfulscrapbooking

I love scrapbooking, working in collage, card making, etc.

6 responses »

  1. ashleycalderandthethingsthatshine

    Awesome pocket page! Your camping pages look great together. I love the inclusion of some of the detail shots in your pocket page, like the rowboat detail.

    Reply
  2. So glad you linked this up to Paper Issues, Evie! 🙂 Loving the sparkle from the alphas and sequins.

    Reply
  3. So adorable! Great job, love your work!

    Reply
  4. I love your pocket pages. The sequins pocket is awesome and all your embellishments coordinate so well. The little cameras are darling.

    Thanks for linking up! So happy to have you!!

    Reply

Leave a comment