Before You Read You Chewed

Hey everyone!  I have a new layout for you featuring items from the Things That Shine Fall Kits and Pops of Color.

DSCN4402

I went down in size to 8.5 x 11 for this one.  I really enjoyed working in a smaller format.  My page is about my son’s love of reading that started when he was a baby and this size really feels like a page out of a story book.  My son is twelve now so I bet you’ve guessed I don’t scrap chronologically.  I usually scrapbook what I’m inspired to do; what I feel like scrapping.  I view all my many many photos as source material.  The thing I liked about scrapping this baby photo was the perspective I got just looking at this photo of my son chewing on a fabric book and thinking about how he has always loved books and how they are so very important to him.

DSCN4383

Here is something totally fun I did.  I used the Electric Blue fine glitter from the Pop of Color in Electric Blue mixed it with Ranger glossy gel medium and pull it through a JBS stencil on the vintage book pages.  You can see in the full layout that I stacked these book pages from the Sweet Fox Teal & Twill kit horizontally behind the photo.  The 3 gold photo corners are included in the Leaves are Falling kit.

DSCN4386

Isn’t this bear the cutest!  It is one of many little fall dimensional stickers that come in The Start of Something New kit.  The white tag with the strip of yellow at the bottom is from the Pop of Color in Neon Yellow.

DSCN4389

On bottom half of this kraft tag from The Start of Something New kit I stacked these darling buttons from the Leaves are Falling Kit.  I love how the dots on the blue button relates back to the dots on the book in the photo.

DSCN4380

I made a pattern with these neon yellow gems from the Pop of Color in Neon Yellow.  They really do “pop” layered on top of this muted aqua vintage ephemera.

DSCN4397

I thought this “date taken” Maggie Holmes stamp was the perfect addition to the this layout, since the photo is older but the journaling includes current thoughts.  I just stamped it with JBS weather vane ink, cut it out, and attached it with an office supply paper clip.

Thank you so much for checking out my latest creation!!!  I’m truly grateful to be able to share it with you!  Visit Ashley’s Things That Shine shop for all the items you see here and many more lovely kits and bits.

See ya soon with more fun artsy stuff.

xox

 ****For more inspiration and fun things to look at you can follow me on Pinterest.****

About artfulscrapbooking

I love scrapbooking, working in collage, card making, etc.

4 responses »

  1. That is so sweet, love your title and all the lovely little details you add to this page.

    Reply
  2. Oh cute! Love the little tag!! Found your link on the SB.com blog readers forum.

    Reply
  3. Very nice layout ! Love the old book pages with blue stars !

    Reply
  4. ashleycalderandthethingsthatshine

    Great page! I just smiled when I saw it!! The bear on the tag is just the perfect embellishment for this page. 🙂 Lovely!!

    Reply

Leave a comment