RSS Feed

In to Deep

Hey there everyone!!  I’m so glad you could stop by today, because I’m very excited to share another new collage with you.  In this collage I’ve included items from Ashley Calder’s shop Things That Shine and found items from my stash and a garage sale. DSCN4264 I stared on a 9×12 piece of gessoed watercolor paper.  I began to build up the layers with watery washes of blue and gray acrylic paint, working my way to deeper and richer blues.  I collaged on a vintage math book page from the Back to School kit along with a page torn out of a shell book I recently purchased at a garage sale.  For added texture, color, and shine in the watery area, I applied Electric Blue fine glitter from the Pop of Color in Electric Blue Embellishment Pack with glossy gel medium. DSCN4254 I altered this label holder with raw umber acrylic paint and stitched it to the paper with light blue embroidery floss from the Celebrate Summer kit. DSCN4243 I hand drew this giant “2” on sketch paper, cut it out, and collaged it on and then added layers of blue paint and Electric Blue glitter on top. DSCN4247 I wrote the word deep with a yellow Caran D’arche neocolor crayon.  I then took a liner brush and white acrylic paint and went over it.  Because it was written on top of the glitter it gives the word a sandy feel.  I created the number strip below by masking it off with drafting tape between layers of paint. DSCN4228 A detailed look a layers and texture. DSCN4249 And here you can see the color and texture of the Electric Blue glitter.  When the light catches it you can see a sparkle.  As in my last collage there in a little more of a greenish tint to this collage in real life.

Thank you for stopping by and taking a look at my latest creation.  I really appreciate your encouraging responses to my last collage!!!  I am loving this new artistic journey that I have embarked on and have another collage in the works.  Yay!!!

There is some exciting things happening at Things That Shine!  Click here to take a look at Ashley’s new site and shop. Now go get messy with paint, glitter, and other yummy stuff!!  If all goes as planned I’ll see ya at the end of this week for a new “In the Studio…”   🙂

***Linked up to Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge: Anything Goes.

About artfulscrapbooking

I love scrapbooking, working in collage, card making, etc.

7 responses »

  1. I love this- it is very “deep”!! No really I love blues and this is really pretty and unique- great Job!!!

    Reply
  2. ashleycalderandthethingsthatshine

    The blues are amazing here!!

    Reply
  3. Wow love this, and love that altered label holder!

    Reply
  4. Yet another fabulous piece of art! I was immediately drawn in by those gorgeous shades of blue and you absolutely created a sense of water with those incredible swirls and shades. I’ve never seen glitter used quite this way before, so kudos on such a clever application. I also adore your bright red label and its label holder. I also really liked how you portrayed seashells, but in an unexpected way. Each piece you make is jammed full of inventive details. It’s always a joy to see what you’ve come up with! On a totally unrelated side-note, I love your name! We named our daughter Evie, so I’m happy to know that there’s at least two amazing Evie’s in this world! Keep up the good work!

    Reply
  5. Beautiful, Evie, so happy for you to have found a new direction to stretch your creativity!

    Reply
  6. Fantastic project! Love all the shades of blue and the touch of red. Thank you so much for sharing with us at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Blog!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

