RSS Feed

Beauty Contains Beauty

We’re back in Paris today; in the Musee d’Orsay.

The Musee d’Orsay was one of my most favorite museums in Paris.  The building itself, is a former railway station, which contains mostly Modern Art.  In our short visit, we actually went there twice.  Today I’m using kits from Things That Shine to preserve this beautiful memory.  I mainly used the Celebrate Summer kit with the addition of one of Ashley’s handmade gorgeous glittery bows.

DSCN3985

I hadn’t scrapbooked in about three weeks and I was feeling pretty rusty before I began this layout.  So, I decided to use Sketch #64 from my friends at Sketch-N-Scrap.  There is nothing like a sketch to get you back in the groove again.  It didn’t take long for the ideas to start flowing and the layout to take shape.

A closer look….

DSCN3988

I had been hoarding this JBS clock rub-on just for these picture, but I never though I would rub it on the gold-dotted MME vellum and layer it with these wonderful elements from Things That Shine.  The leather doily is from the Celebrate Summer kit, the seal and gold tag come packed with the glitter bow embellishment, and the red sequin is from the Pop of Red embellishment pack.

DSCN3994

And here is that gorgeous bow that comes two to a pack.  I tucked a Things That Shine tag behind it and added some red twine.

DSCN3991

I love this multi-colored triangles washi from the Celebrate Summer kit, which acts like arrows on this layout.  I layered it over some scrap painted paper that I saved and tucked under the polka dotted fabric tape, also from the kit.

DSCN3997

Texture, layers, drops, and a label.  I am amazed at all the goodness that comes in Ashley’s kits. It makes scrapping so much fun!

For more Things That Shine pop over the Ashley’s blog.  While you’re there why not sign up for the Things That Shine newsletter and mailing list to keep you in the shiney loop.

To see more of my Paris layouts just click on Paris Series in my Categories widget.  You can also see them on my pinterest Paris Scraps board.

Have a shiney day!!

**Linked up a Paper Issue’s new issue Anything Goes and at Lisa Dickinson’s blog Gettin’ By for a Weekly Project Round-Up.

About artfulscrapbooking

I love scrapbooking, working in collage, card making, etc.

20 responses »

  1. Very nice. The Musee d’Orsay is my mother’s favorite museum too. I must say I do love the building. so much fun to explore. Love your page and just reminds me I need to finish my layouts of Europe as well. TFS!

    Reply
  2. Hi Evie! SOOO good to see your work around SNS again, we miss you! I LOVE that clock, love the pops of gold and just love these pics as well! So glad you could join us at Sketch N Scrap!

    Reply
  3. Such a pretty layout, Evie, love the yellow and blue!

    Reply
  4. What a beautiful way to preserve a wonderful memory.

    Reply
  5. Hi Evie, lovely to see your creativity again and what a stunning layout! Love the way you dressed up the clock. Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful Paris page with us at Sketch N Scrap. xx

    Reply
  6. So beautiful, Evie! Your details are always pure perfection!

    Reply
  7. Beautiful! I love the details!

    Reply
  8. Love the gold Thickers, I believe I have some but not sure where. I shall find them!

    Reply
  9. just so pretty! i love how your layered clock design element relates back to the clock in the photos – genius!

    Reply
  10. awesome page!!!Thanks so much for joining us at Sketch N Scrap!!

    Reply
  11. Beautiful details. Thank you for joining us at Sketch N Scrap

    Reply
  12. So pretty! Love the washi and how you sewed on your jounaling! Thanks for joining us at Sketch N Scrap!

    Reply
  13. Beautiful page and wonderful pics Evie!!!!

    Thanks for joining us at SNS 🙂

    Reply
  14. Amazing attention to detail Evie! This is beautiful and there is no evidence of you being rusty! Thank you so much for joining us at Sketch N Scrap!

    Reply
  15. Beautiful! Love all the gold accents! Thanks for playing along with us at Sketch N Scrap!

    Reply
  16. Love this one~more shiney:):)

    Reply
  17. Beautiful layout!!!!
    Thanks to joining us at Sketch N Scrap!!!

    Reply
  18. Gorgeous take on the sketch challenge! Loving the gold accents! Thanks for playing along with us at Sketch N Scrap! 🙂

    Reply
  19. Beautiful! Love all of your embellishments and stitching. Thanks for sharing with us at Sketch-N-Scap

    Reply
  20. ashleycalderandthethingsthatshine

    Evie! This is a great page. Your photos are lovely… they so make me want to be there!! I’m hoarding one of those clock rub-ons, too. Great idea to layer it along with lots of other fun stuff!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

