RSS Feed

A Ticket to Ride

Hi there and Happy Fathers Day!!  That means it’s June 15th and time for a new Sketch Challenge at Sketch-N-Scrap!  Let’s start it off with Sketch #59 designed by Kelly:

1005937_387980734677953_1493919576_n

And now for my take on the sketch:

DSCN3582

You can tell I had fun with this one!  Finishing up with my March 2104 JBS Mercantile Kits, I only added vellum, JBS paper tape, inks, and paint.  In March I splurged and bought 4 of the monthly kits from Jenni Bowlin Studio and that basically became my Spring scrapping supplies.  I love working with all the coordinating supplies.  Jenni does such an awesome job of putting together the kits!  I love the unique items you get in the Antiquarian Kits, like this German gold foil circular element and the kraft tickets (that I turned upside down).

The picture is of my husband and son enjoying a ride at a local carnival.  It was just serendipity that I scrapped this photo for this Fathers Day post; no really, I didn’t plan it.  In this layout I concentrated on interpreting some of the details of the photo with my scrappy supplies.

And now for some close-ups:

DSCN3573

Here I made these pretty mini tickets with the JBS “Ticket Please” punch to go along with the carnival theme and the title of the layout.

DSCN3577

I painted this lovely gold foil piece with red acrylic paint, let it dry for a few seconds, and buffed it off with a paper towel.  I topped it of with a Studio Calico label and a JBS chalkboard flatback.  It’s official, I went through both packs of those flatbacks, Chalkboard I and Chalkboard II.  I just love them!

DSCN3574

I used the same paint technique on these beautiful gold sequins that came in the main kit.

In my layout you can see I deviated a bit from the sketch, but the basic structure and elements are there.  I feel I have gotten better and better at using a sketch as a taking off point instead of following it to the letter.  I encourage you to have fun with this sketch…go a little wild….go a little crazy!!!

To get all the details for this Sketch Challenge you can pop over to Sketch-N-Scrap by clicking here.   You could win a wonderful prize from Chic Tags and the chance to be the Featured Scrapper of the Month.

Also, there is still time to enter my P-A-R-T-Y Challenge.  Click here for all the details and to link up your project!

Love and scrapbooks,

Evie

 

About artfulscrapbooking

I love scrapbooking, working in collage, card making, etc.

5 responses »

  1. This is beautiful, Evie! You always have the most interesting details on your pages. So creative!

    Reply
  2. I love the use of the gold foil element on your page. Very cool take on the sketch!

    Reply
  3. ashleycalderandthethingsthatshine

    I love love love this so much! The foil, the paper tickets… ooooh…

    Reply
  4. love your take on this:) and the JBS!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

