RSS Feed

Thinking Green

Hey peoples, I’m so glad you stopped by!!

It’s the 15th of March, which means time for a new sketch challenge from Sketch-N-Scrap.  Here is Sketch #53:

1526907_356622431147117_1665643076_n

Isn’t it so cute??!!  I think so and of course it made me think of Spring.  So I pulled out my Modern Mercantile from Jenni Bowlin Studio, which is the perfect collection for any Spring layout.  I absolutely love this collection designed by Lisa Dickinson.  It makes me think of soft quilts and sunny days.  It was the perfect choice for me to use in creation of this St. Patricks Day layout.

DSCN3196

For the background I first applied a thin layer of gesso.  After that dried, I painted on top of it with Mister Huey’s in Dark Calico letting the ink pool and puddle in places.  And over that I added a few drips of the same ink.

DSCN3176

I so enjoyed making these JBS Alterable Alphas green.  I just rubbed a Q-Tip on the JBS Seed Packet ink pad and then rubbed it on the letters.  I went for an uneven application to give variation to the color.  …and those little JBS navy circle letters…how perfect are they for this page!

DSCN3180 Each journaling strip relates to each photo.

DSCN3188

Like I said, this collection of patterned papers reminds me of quilt fabrics, so I couldn’t help but break out the doodle stitching.  I also crumpled and sanded the papers for a worn look.  I used a vintage payroll sheet from one of Jenni’s kits to frame each photo.  I have gotten so much mileage out of that one payroll sheet, tucking it in here and there on various layouts.

DSCN3193

I created this button by adhering a leftover scrap (I having been saving every little bit of this collection) to a JBS Plain Chipboard Button and sanded the edges.  I folded over and tore the background paper to mimic the little colored squares from the sketch.

So, that’s my layout…time for you to create your own and link up over at Sketch-N-Scrap by clicking here.  Remember, you have until the end of the month for a chance to win a $20 gift card from scrapbook.com and chance to be a Featured Scrapper!!  Have fun, you may get LUCKY!

See ya soon and don’t forget to wear your GREEN on the 17th!!!   🙂

I linked up to Paper Issues New Issue:  Count Your Lucky Stars.  Thanks Lisa Swift!!

About artfulscrapbooking

I love scrapbooking, working in collage, card making, etc.

9 responses »

  1. What a fun layout, Evie, love the patterns you chose and the treatment to the background looks fab! 🙂

    Reply
  2. So artistic. I’m completely in love! 🙂 That background is just awesome.

    Reply
  3. Such a fun layout, Evie! You won’t believe this, but it fits perfectly with the new link up that started at Paper Issues today. 🙂 http://www.paperissues.blogspot.com/2014/03/new-issue-count-your-lucky-stars.html

    Reply
  4. Perfect in every way!! Love that you used MM~gorgeous!!!

    Reply
  5. Oh yes, I have some of these papers left and I love them ! You made ma wanting to use them with your pretty layout.

    Reply
  6. Gorgeous layout – totally loving those sequins!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

