RSS Feed

Hotel de Ville

Hey ho, it’s a new month and it’s time for a new sketch challenge over at the super fun challenge blog Sketch-N-Scrap!!  Here is the March 1st sketch, #52:

1479369_10201523772641083_1631380556_n

And here is my take, a new Paris layout:

DSCN3115

Taking my cue from the photos, I was really playing with dark and light in this layout.  This can be seen in my paper and embellishment choices.

DSCN3120

Hotel de Ville translates to City Hall.  This building is Paris’ City Hall, not a hotel…lol!  Love this red patterned paper with the elaborate bows designed by lovely and fun Lisa Dickinson for JBS Mercantile.  I used red as an accent color, because of the woman in the photo wearing the red coat.  One amazing  thing I noticed while walking in Paris that there will be a sea of gray and black and one pop of red.  Do you think only certain people are allowed to wear red to create the effect?? (I jokingly wonder.)

DSCN3121

I layered these vintage buttons over this amazing Clock Mechanics stamp, an exclusive from JBS Mercantile.  And what is this guy pointing at?

DSCN3128

I steer clear from politics, but this is definetly a sign of the times and definetly capture worthy and…

DSCN3119

…warranted the use of this soldier card from Jenni’s Fortune Telling Mini Deck.  The little wood veneer arrows are from Pinkfresh Studio.  They are so cute and colorful on the other side, but I turned them over to work in this layout.  The ones at the top, I inked black.

I hope you enjoyed my layout and I hope you join in over at Sketch-N-Scrap where you have a chance to win a prize (a $20 gift card to scrapbook.com!!) and a chance to have your layout featured.  You have until the end of the month to link up so pop over to Sketch-N-Scrap by clicking here for all the details.

Thanks for stopping by!!!   🙂

About artfulscrapbooking

I love scrapbooking, working in collage, card making, etc.

9 responses »

  1. Beautiful layout, Evie, really love how you played on the light and dark from your photos!

    Reply
  2. Love the layout! Fabulous job in highlighting the darker photo with the lighter background and vice versa!

    Reply
  3. Great take on the sketch! A fabulous page!

    Reply
  4. Fabulous page, Evie! I always love your attention to detail. The soldier card and fortune couldn’t be more perfect on here. 🙂

    Reply
  5. Great page, love the solider card and the color theme!

    Reply
  6. Great page as always!! Love the Jenni style!!!

    Reply
  7. Great take on the sketch!!

    Reply
  8. Love all your little touches to make this take on a feel that compliments your photos. Wonderful page!

    Reply
  9. Great page Evie. I’ve been to Paris a number of times and just love it. These photos brought back lovely fond memories. Maggie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

