RSS Feed

Look Smart

Hello everyone!  Today I have a new Paris layout for you titled Look Smart.   It is also my entry in the Tic Tac Toe Stash Challenge #8 over at the Scrap Our Stash challenge blog.  My three in a row is Washi Tape, Journal Card, and 5+ Brads.

DSCN2456

Untitled-1

There is so much I want to say about this layout…so I’ll try to be clear and concise!

  • In my previous post Thus Far…I thought I came up with a full proof system to beat the boredom factor when working on this big “scrap my trip to Paris” project.  Well, I have to admit even with all my ideas, my inspiration was waning until I decided to enter this challenge.  That perked me right up and I had so much fun working on this layout!!
  • When you look at my layout, you might be thinking “What’s the big deal about a Smart Car?” or not…, but you have to remember I was in Paris in 1999 and there weren’t Smart Cars in the U.S. until 2008.  Yes, I was on Wikipedia again.  I found out that Smart Cars were dreamed up in Germany and manufactured in Hambach, France.  So this is indeed a little French car!
  • The stamped, painted, and inked background paper I am using for this layout is something that happened along the way.  I have a big Provo Craft Slab (remember those?) of patterned paper that I no longer use in my scrapping, but the 12×12 sheets are perfect for covering my layouts in progress, to put underneath something that I’m painting, and to try out and practice media, like stamps and inks.  Well, when this “practice paper” got to a certain point I thought it looked pretty cool and hoped it would find it’s way into a layout in some shape or form.

Here is a detail of it pre-layout.

DSCN2414

And now for the layout details.

DSCN2463

I used this LOOK journal card from Jenni Bowlin Studio’s To Do Flashcards for the first half of the title and I trimmed the name portion from an October Afternoon Travel Girl journal card with the addition of some tomato red Alphabeans for the second half the title.  In this detail you can see my very old 5+ brads, Jenni Bowlin Studio Sage Lace washi, and the red stars and seal stickers from the JBS Skinny Alphas.

DSCN2468

To create this embellishment cluster at the top of the page, I layered the JBS sage lace washi, Sew Fun Travel Girl  Banners, more brads and JBS stickers, and a vintage “old fashioned” car button.

DSCN2471

I can’t get enough of these tiny gold rub-on arrows, from Jenni Bowlin’s Tiny Trims Revised, running along my punching and stitching.  Amazingly enough, the patterned side of my “practice paper” was the perfect green, so I just had to show that bit of scrappy magic off.

DSCN2476

Yummy, yummy layers!

Supplies:  Cardstock: Bazzill Basics; Patterned paper: Provo Craft; Banner Flags: October Afternoon; Rub-ons, washi, stickers: Jenni Bowlin Studio; Journal cards: Jenni Bowlin Studio, October Afternoon; Alphas: jillibean Soup; Stamps: OA Travel Girl “Streets of Paris”, teresa collins Fabrications Canvas Stamps; Ink: JBS for Ranger Seed Packet, StazOn Jet Black, Heidi Swapp Color Shine Gold, Clearsnap Gold; Acrylic paint, multi-medium: Claudine Hellmuth Studio; Colored pencil: Prismacolor Slate Blue; Punch: Fiskars Threading Water; Pen: Marvy UCHIDA; Thread: Coats and Clark; Other: brads, button.

I hope you enjoyed todays additon of Paris.   Remember,  if you need a little inspiration for your scrappy projects, try a challenge to get your creative juices flowing again.  It worked for me!

See ya soon!

xo, Evie

About artfulscrapbooking

I love scrapbooking, working in collage, card making, etc.

17 responses »

  1. this is such a cool page!
    And I love the background paper!!!

    Reply
  2. Awesome page, love the background, such a great idea.

    Reply
  3. Another beautiful page, Evie. I love how you created the background!

    Reply
  4. This is such cool layout! Love it!

    Reply
  5. Evie, this is an absolutely wonderfully designed page, but I am totally swooning over the stamped background you have!

    Reply
  6. Very nice page! How cool that you got the see the smart cars long before they were here.

    Reply
  7. Great page! Love the details.

    Reply
  8. Love your Jenni layout. You are so good with JBS~love it!!!! The map is excellent:):)

    Reply
  9. Wow Evie, I love all the wonderful elements to your page and what a great use of an unwanted piece of paper! The frugal scrapper in me sat up and took notice!! I am glad you enjoyed the Scrap Our Stash tic tac toe challenge and thanks for playing along with us. xx

    Reply
  10. Awesome layout! love the background map and all the elements! thank you for linking up with us on our tic tac toe challenge at Scrap our Stash!

    Reply
  11. Lovely page! Great detail shots, and I love the photos! What fun.

    Reply
  12. Great layout and awesome background! Wonderful job using your stash items from the Tic Tac Toe Board! Thank you for joining us at Scrap our Stash!

    Reply
  13. I love your background and all the nice little touches. Thanks for playing along with us at Scrap Our Stash.

    Reply
  14. I just love this! All of it! Such great little details and descriptions too…So many great things to look at! Thanks for sharing and playing with us at Scrap Our Stash!

    Reply
  15. I love this one. I like how you used your ‘scrap’ paper for your base. So many great elements, here.

    ~Robin Redd
    Scrap Our Stash DT

    Reply
  16. What a cool layout! I llove all of your elements! Thanks for playing along with SOS!
    e.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

