RSS Feed

Thus Far…

Hello there everyone!  Today I wanted to take a moment to talk about what is happening thus far on this Paris Series journey.

DSCN2017

Firstly, when I began this project I did choose a few Paris/travel related supplies to work with, which you can see in an earlier post here.  But these few supplies were certainly not enough to complete an entire trip album.  I have made trip albums in the past where I have bought all the papers and embellishments I would need up front and frankly, about the middle of the project I started to get bored with the same supplies.  I knew this project would be a huge undertaking and I wanted to keep it fresh and exciting for myself.

Secondly, because of the amount of photos I have I didn’t want to get overwelhmed, so I decided that I would just work on the photos as I took them and not look too far ahead.  I wanted to tell the story one layout at a time making my way through the trip.

DSCN2403

And here is the “stack” of photos!  Maybe, not as big as some, but big enough!!

Now back to the supplies.  To defeat boredom, I decided I would just choose papers and embellishments that would go with the photo or photos I was working on for each individual layout.  But, as I finished my first Paris layout and moved to the second, I realized that I wanted some consistancy from page to page.  Although I still planned on using papers unique to the photos and their layouts, I wanted the album/project to have a cohesive feel. 

As I was finishing my layouts,  I started putting any left over papers, embellishments, ribbons and letter stickers in a box.  This way when I’m working on a new layout and am looking for something to add to it, I go to this box first.  I also keep items I’ve used on my Paris layouts on my table;  like washi tape, spray inks, stamping ink, punches, and itty bitty scraps of paper.   I find this system combined with my style of working does created a cohesive feel for the project and I really do notice this when I view all the layouts lined up together.

Supplies:  Patterned paper: October Afternoon Travel Girl Guide Book, Jenni Bowlin Studio Wren and Modern Mercantile; Punch: JBS/Fiskars File This; Gesso: Claudine Hellmuth Studio; Pen: Zig.

Thanks for stopping by today!  See ya next Tuesday with a new Paris layout!!

xo, Evie

About artfulscrapbooking

I love scrapbooking, working in collage, card making, etc.

6 responses »

  1. Can’t wait to see your pages!

    Reply
  2. Sounds like you have the process down pat and organized, Evie!

    Reply
  3. Looking forward to seeing more of these pages!

    Reply
  4. Can’t wait to see what you create with this stack 🙂

    Reply
  5. GREAT idea!!! In the end you will have pages that all look great together, I nice album. I knew you woould like the paris note books:):)

    Reply
  6. Very very cool to hear about your plan of attack here!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

