RSS Feed

Entrez, vous – we have a winner!

Hi everyone!!  I have a new Paris layout to share titled Entrez, vous.

DSCN2375

Graffiti??  I’m not an advocate for graffiti, so I’ll try to put into words why I took these pictures.  Like I said in my very first Paris layout, I had awe and amazement for my foreign surroundings and the graffiti on these ancient doors was no exception.  Maybe I took the shot because I didn’t expect to find graffiti in Paris, on beautiful old buildings.  Although, most big cities have graffiti, it’s typically not what one thinks of when thinking of Paris.  The Eiffel Tower, the Arc De Triumphe, and the Louvre, but not graffiti.  I remember seeing part of an episode of Project Runway that was filmed in Paris and the contestants were to use Paris as inspiration for a design.  Well, one designer used the graffiti she had seen in Paris as inspiration.  I remember one of the judges couldn’t understand why she would use the graffiti for inspiration when there was all the beauty of Paris around her.  I was thinking… I get it…I get why she used the graffiti.  It is not as simple as “Wow, look, that’s French graffiti”, but in a way it is.

This is actually 2 photos; doors (left) that open up to a courtyard (right) for an apartment building.  My husband reminded me that these large entrys were orignally made for the horse drawn carriages.  I used foam strips to raised up the right photo and slightly layer it over the left one.  I decided to use the photos in my layout symbolically.  For me it is about having faith in yourself every day, having faith to take the next step even though it may be a bit scary, and having faith to continue on your path.

And now for the details…

DSCN2389

I painted an uneven layer of Claudine Hellmuth Studio gesso over the BasicGrey patterned paper.  I then cut up this Jenni Bowlin Studio Rub-On Single into random shapes and roughly rubbed them on, overlapping as I went.  I have been using a lot of gold thus far in my Paris layouts, but I thought the sliver picked up the silvery tone is some of the spray paint in the photo and that the floral pattern contrasted nicely to the graffiti image.

DSCN2385

Another shot of the rub-on with a bit of JBS Bleached Woodgrain Paper Tape.  You can see the silver rub-on looks darker here.  It’s tone depends on the way the light hits it.

DSCN2376

A little stack of labels and tags to support the title.  I used foam strips and glue dots to seperate the layers and give the stack dimension.

DSCN2380

This transparency is a page from the JBS Hodge Podge Book-Look.  Through the darkness to “Sunshine Hall”.  This layer couldn’t have been more fitting behind this photo.

DSCN2382

Faith, gotta have it to get you through it!  To make the word faith stand out amongst the other letters, I left f-a-i-t-h the orignal mushroom gray color and painted a thin layer of gesso over the rest.  I also sanded them a bit.

Supplies:  Cardstock: Bazzill; Patterned paper: BasicGrey knee highs hopscotch, JBS Modern Mercantile Etcetera; Journaling tags and labels: Chic Tags Snip’em Tags Road Trip, JBS Flag Tags, vintage from the JBS Mercantile May 2013 Papercrafting Kit; Transparency: JBS Hodge Podge Book; Rub-Ons: JBS Floral Background, 3 Birds; Paper tape: JBS; Aphas: jilibean Soup Alphabeans; Gesso, multi-medium: Claudine Hellmuth Studio; Punch: Jenni Bowlin for Fiskars File This; Thread: Coats and Clark; Pen: Marvy UCHIDA; Glue dots: Glue Dots International; Foam strips: Therm O Web.

For those of you that are new to my Paris Series and those of you that have been following along, you may be wondering, “Where are the pictures of the Eiffel Tower, the Arc De Triumphe, and the Louvre?”  Well, they are coming, they are in that stack, but I decided to work with the pictures in the order I took them.  I’m really enjoying the process and I hope you are too!  Hopefully, we’ll make it through this first walk, on this first day in Paris by Christmas, lol!!!

And now for the moment you’ve been waiting for…. the winner to my Lucky Me, Lucky You Give-Away is #14 Totem.  Yay Totem!!  Congrats to you!  I will email you shortly for your address and send your kit out to you asap!  Thanks to everyone for playing along!

See ya soon!

xo, Evie

About artfulscrapbooking

I love scrapbooking, working in collage, card making, etc.

7 responses »

  1. Another beautiful page, Evie! I love your perspective and reason for doing this one.

    Reply
  2. I really like what you did with the background paper. It complements the theme very well.

    Reply
  3. Beautiful page! Great background enhancements!

    Reply
  4. Hey Evie, very cool page! Loving those pictures and your treatment of them! Great job.

    Reply
  5. Evie, I just love your work! Your use of the rub ons works so well with those pictures! I can’t wait to see more of your Paris layouts.

    Reply
  6. gorgeous!! Love how you used the letters at the bottom. looks Fabulous!!!

    Reply
  7. Wonderful page Evie! So great attention to fun detail and storytelling.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

