RSS Feed

Inside a Paris Apartment

Today we find ourselves inside a Paris apartment, well through my journalling that is.

DSCN2299

You can see that the photo in the layout shows the outside of Paris apartments, so I used my imagination to describe what it might be like on the inside.  I was back on Google Maps finding the exact location where this picture was taken.  There is a sign in the lower left side of the photo, sticking out from the building, that says AtolL PALME (sorry it’s illegible here), which is a women’s clothing store and is located right below.  So there is apartments and offices(?) on top and shops below.  But that AtolL PALME sign helped me find that these buildings are located on Rue du Temple.  I feel a bit like I’m playing detective when I go on Google looking for some of the locations in my photos.  My husband says that if we ever get back to Paris that my head will explode…I think he is right!!  And now for some details…

DSCN2276

This wood veneer chair is from Claudine Hellmuth’s HSN line.  I painted and stamped it with Claudine Hellmuth Studio paints and used the Floral Background clear stamp, an exclusive from Jenni Bowlin MercantileHere are the paint recipes:  traditional tan + dash of red =  muted pink; dash of red + sable brown + a tiny bit of smidge of blue = burgundy.

DSCN2291

Tearing back layers of paper,…painting and stitching in cracks,…and using Claudine’s paints to customize my light gray Bazzill cardstock.  Paint recipe:  sky blue + painterly pink = the perfect sort of dusty blue to go with the Jenni Bowlin journaling card.

DSCN2302

To make these mushroom gray letters, by jillibean Soup, stand out against the background I colored the word “apartment” with an Amy Tangerine dark gray Slick Writer.  You can see I left the centers of the letters the orignal lighter gray, which ties back to the “a” in the title and the gray bouquet bow.  I also love the grid pattern in the very center of the letters that relate back to the upper background paper and the JBS journaling cards.

DSCN2283

Gold embossing….

DSCN2288

more gold embossing!!  The Monday Challenge Blog over at Simon Says Stamp is featuring embossing this week.  I was inspired to pull out my gold Zing! embossing powder and Teresa Collins Fabrications “Canvas” Stamps to add some finishing touches to this layout.  I think it really says “Paris” and ties together the other gold elements in the layout; which are the gold Color Shine spray ink and gold flower button.

Supplies:  Cardstock: Bazzill Basics; Patterned paper: BasicGrey knee highs four square, Taylor for daisyd’s (grid); Journaling cards: Jenni Bowlin Studio Be Our Guest; Doily sticker: Martha Stewart Crafts; Dimensional sticker: K&Company Happy Trails Paris Grand Adhesions; Wood veneer: Claudine Hellmuth; Alphas: Glitz Teeny Alphas, Heidi Swapp, Jillibean Soup Alphabeans; Punches: Fiskars; Embossing Powder: American Crafts Zing!; Clear stamps: JBS Mercantile, Teresa Collins; Ink: Tim Holtz Distress Ink frayed burlap; Spray ink: Heidi Swapp Color Shine; Acrylic paint, multi-medium, extra-time: Claudine Hellmuth Studio; Photo corners: 3L; Pens: Amy Tangerine, Marvy UCHIDA, Zig Millennium; Thread: Coats and Clark; Other: fabric, ribbon, button.

I hope you enjoyed my Paris musings.  As always, if you have a questions about how I did something on my layout, feel free to put it in “Comments” and I will answer you back there asap!

Look for a “Big Giveaway” here on my blog at the beginning of next week to celebrate the fact that I have been blogging for one year this month.  Yay!!  See ya then!

xo, Evie

About artfulscrapbooking

I love scrapbooking, working in collage, card making, etc.

13 responses »

  1. this is such a beautiful layout!! I LOVE what you did with the wood chair!!

    Reply
  2. This is amazing, making me squeel(?) Love how you used the jenni products, so beautiful and unique. Love it Evie!!! Besure and post on the JBS gallery:):) The girls need to see this!!!

    Reply
  3. Cool layout!!! Great job! 🙂

    Reply
  4. I enjoyed this so much, Evie! Love what you did with the chair. Absolutely beautiful!

    Reply
  5. Very pretty page. Love all of the journaling.

    Reply
  6. What a fun layout, great journaling and I love that little chair.

    Reply
  7. Beautiful layout and wonderful journaling!

    Reply
  8. Beautiful page! Love your creative journaling, and the distressed, peeled back paper!

    Reply
  9. What an interesting and unique layout! I love the creative journaling. Absolutely gorgeous page!

    Reply
  10. This is such a wonderful layout and such a creative idea! Thanks for the inspiration!

    Reply
  11. Very nice! I really like the toile elements and silhouettes.

    Reply
  12. Beautiful! I love the embossing!

    Reply
  13. Lovely walk through your Parisian apartment in your imagination. Beautiful layout! Thanks for playing along with us at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

