RSS Feed

Explore Your World

Today I am sharing my Contributing Project, a mixed-media layout on canvas,  for Claudine Hellmuth’s Technique Toolbox class through Big Picture Classes.  Drum roll please….(just kidding)!

DSCN1625

I used the “aged peeled paper” technique to create a background that would give the feel of layers of earth and grasses.  I used a double-sided patterned paper, from My Mind’s Eye, knowing that the reverse print would show through and create the depth I was looking for.  Layering a wash of Claudine Hellmuth Studio acrylic paint over top really enhanced this technique.

Here is a detail of the technique.  You can see the polka dotted paper from the reverse side showing through.

DSCN1605

I altered these Kitten Thickers with Claudine Hellmuth Studio’s acrylic paints in landscape green and dab of yellow.  I created more detail by going back in with a white Gelly Roll pen.  Also, you can see I got down to the canvas with the paper peeling technique.

DSCN1608

Here is a cluster of items my son might find while “exploring his world” during one of our camping trips.DSCN1615

Maybe this sweet bird left a few of the items behind.  He is from Claudine’s Spring Garden clear stamps and stamped with smidge of blue paint on to sticky-back canvas in natural.

DSCN1621

I really loved being a part of Claudine’s class this summer.  I also enjoyed waking up to a new technique video each morning.  If you ever get a chance to take one of Claudine’s classes I highly recommend it…they are a daily dose of inspiration!!

Supplies:  Patterned paper:  My Mind’s Eye, Echo Park Paper Company, Jenni Bowlin Studio, Modern Mercantile for Jenni Bowlin Studio; Chipboard alphas:  Thickers by American Crafts; Vellum: Studio Calico; Wood venner bubbles: Studio Calico; Chipboard banner flags and button: My Mind’s Eye; Rubber stamps: Claudine Hellmuth Studio, Cocoa Daisy, Creatiate; Sticky-back canvas, multi-medium, acrylic paint: Claudine Hellmuth Studio; Twine and punch: Martha Stewart Crafts; Pens: Marvy UCHIDA, Sakura; Thread: Coats and Clark; Other: 12×12 canvas, vintage payroll sheet, sequins, buttons, safety pin.

Thanks for stopping by today, for this little vacation from my vacation in Paris!  🙂

See ya soon!  xo, Evie

About artfulscrapbooking

I love scrapbooking, working in collage, card making, etc.

9 responses »

  1. Evie this is BEAUTIFUL!! I love that background!

    Reply
  2. This is so boy-perfect! I love the small clusters of “pocket-findings” 🙂

    Reply
  3. Absolutely lovely! Lovin’ all the little elements here! Thanks for sharing and have a great week!

    Reply
  4. Fun layout! Love that it has so much to explore which goes along with your theme.

    Reply
  5. So amazing, love the clusters!

    Reply
  6. I love it!! thank you so much for being a part of my class!!

    Reply
  7. wow Evie, You really did an awesome job on this canvas. Gorgeous!!!

    Reply
  8. so loving all those flowers, strings and bits… thanks for sharing…

    Reply
  9. Fabulous layout! Love the technique!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

