RSS Feed

Let’s take a trip to Paris!

I would like to welcome you, dear readers, to the very first installment of my Paris Series.  The concept behind the Paris Series is to give you an armchair visit to Paris.  You can just sit back, scroll down, and come along for the ride.

My husband and I took a trip to Paris in April of 1999.  We arrived in the “City of Light” on April 13th and departed on April 18th, to be exact.  Although, this trip was less than a week, it had a profound effect on me and every few years I get into everything Paris; everything French.  Well, I’m into it again, big time!  I’m reading French lifestyle books, French history books, and books on French artists.  I am also getting obsessed with all things Paris and French on Pinterest.  But, the biggest thing is that I am finally scrapping that stack of pictures I took while we were there!!!   So, without further ado, here is my first layout, with the first picture I took in Paris,  titled Kiosk.

DSCN2015

A couple things about this layout.  Firstly, since the kiosk in the photo is basically a silhouette, I decided to make a pencil sketch, so we could see what a Paris kiosk really looks like.  Now, what I did was pin some images of kiosks on my Paris pin board to draw from.  There was one main image I used and a few others to get ideas for the advertisements.  Secondly, if you haven’t noticed, I used  basically all  Jenni Bowlin Studio supplies for this layout.  After seeing Ashley Calder’s recent DIY JBS Kit video and layout, I was inspired to challenge myself to make an all JBS layout.  If you check out Ashley’s layout here, you’ll see I used a few similar elements.

DSCN2036

Sketch detail.

DSCN2023

Layers of Claudine Hellmuth Studio gesso, JBS Cough Syrup ink and exclusive stencil, and JBS Notebook Grid Paper Tape. 

DSCN2028

I stitched over the cardstock alphas, painted them with Claudine Hellmuth Studio Dab of Yellow and Yellow Pastel acrylic paints,  and then sanded them.

DSCN2030

Painting and layering detail.

DSCN2034

I distressed the Flag Tags a bit, before I added my journaling.

Here is a list of the JBS supplies I used for this layout:  Patterned Paper: the b-side (5 cents) of Lace Curtain from Wren, Miscellany (yellow-striped) from Modern Mercantile; Tags: Flag Tags-Vintage; Sticker: Star Banner-Yellow Stickers; Embellishment: Red Rhinestone Bow; Stencil: Exclusive to Feb. 2013 PaperCrafting Kit; Paper tape: Notebook Grid, Alphas: Black Tiny Dot Cardstock Alphabet Stickers; Dye ink pad: Cough Syrup; Punches: File This, Ticket Please.

Please join me for future Paris Series posts that will include things like:

  • how big is that stack of pictures?
  • a look at my Paris related scrappy supplies.
  • the books that really got me fired up about Paris and all things French.
  • what type of “scrapbook” will this be?

 

About artfulscrapbooking

I love scrapbooking, working in collage, card making, etc.

18 responses »

  1. Very cool and creative layout . I’ll be back for more of Paris!

    Reply
  2. So many amazing details on this beautiful page, Evie. I’m going to bring my daughter along on this adventure too since she loves Paris so much. 🙂

    Reply
  3. hi evie!! I love your sketch!! that is so beautiful!! yay for Paris!

    Reply
  4. This is exactly how I feel about Ireland 🙂
    Love how you incorporated your sketch on your page!!

    Reply
  5. Oh my goodness…I just went to Paris for the first time in March and your “let’s just walk” quote was sooo me when we got there! I haven’t scrapped any of my pics yet, maybe this will motivate me 🙂

    Reply
  6. lovely page, looking forward to seeing Paris through your eyes!

    Reply
  7. this totally ROCKS! love the sketch and the photo- everything is awesome

    Reply
  8. Great layout ! I went to Paris only one time long years ago and I don’t remember very well the city, but I do remember these kiosques à journaux !

    Reply
  9. Gorgeous sketch – what a great idea!

    Reply
  10. this is such a great layout! I’ve never been to Paris, but this is inspiring me to get my photos from Italy out and finally scrap them!

    Reply
  11. Amazing work!!! I love this so much!! 😀

    Reply
  12. I’m inspired to start scrapbooking my France adventure. Thank you for the inspiration.

    Reply
  13. Beautiful layout! Love your photos, and the sketch is just super!

    Reply
  14. I am going to Paris next week! I like your layout and will come back for inspiration when i scrap our trip! I found you on 2peas just now and will check out more of your blog!

    Reply
  15. ashleycalderandthethingsthatshine

    We took a similar trip to Paris a couple of years after you were there, and I agree, it was life-changing in so many ways. I’m looking forward to this series!
    And, I love your page! What you did with the stencil and distressing is just fantastic!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

