RSS Feed

At Ten

It’s all about the hair @ 10.

DSCN1964

Here is a layout I made mostly with the April 2013 PaperCrafting Kit from Jenni Bowlin Studio.   Some additions are: Modern Mercantile and Wren patterned paper, plain chipboard button, Grocer’s List stamp, File This punch: Jenni Bowlin Studio;  Distressed graph patterned paper: Echo Park; Thought bubble stamps, gesso, acrylic paints, multi-medium: Claudine Hellmuth Studio Line; Twine: Webster’s Pages.

DSCN1942

DSCN1960

How I created the blue thought bubble background:  I first painted a layer of Claudine’s gesso, stamped the uninked thought bubble stamps into the gesso (this lifts off the gesso in the stamped image) and then let the gessoed background dry.  I used Claudine’s Studio Line paints to create this bright blue.  I added a “smidge” of smidge blue to the sky blue.  I watered the paint down a bit and washed it over the background with a brush.  This not only creates new brush strokes, but allows for the details in the dried gesso to be picked up and also lets the paint sink into the stamped areas creating a darker blue tone.

DSCN1957

Here I created a paper ribbon of sorts:  I cut a strip from the text side of the JBS Wheatgrass paper, inked it with Clearsnap chalk ink in Chestnut Roan,  stitched it, crumpled it, and then sanded it.

DSCN1953

Another detail of the paper ribbon, which also shows the stitching across the Studio Calico paper, and the patterned paper I created with Claudine’s stamps from her “Words and Frames 1&2” clear stamp sets.  I used Ranger Archival Ink in True Blue.

DSCN1948

To create this custom button:  I used a plain JBS chipboard button and covered it in a scrap of Modern Mercantile.  I sanded, inked with the same True Blue ink, and then sanded again.

SSS_50dollar_voucher

I am entering this layout in Simon Says Stamp’s current challenge.  The challenge is to include a button or many button’s on any kind of project.  The winner will be chosen randomly.  Pop over to the Simon Says Stamp blog for some awesome button inspiration by clicking here.

FYI…my son waited almost a year to cut his hair.  I loved it long with all his waves and curls, but now with it short again, he looks so fresh and ready for summer!  Yay to that!!!

About artfulscrapbooking

I love scrapbooking, working in collage, card making, etc.

6 responses »

  1. He is a CUTIE!!!! I love those locks! Great layout, and tying it up with a button! Thanks for buttoning up with us this week here at Simon Says Stamp & Show!!!

    Reply
  2. I love all the layers and texture!! The gesso is fabulous!!!

    Reply
  3. How fun and fabulous! I love the way you used the speech bubbles and the extra details of the button and twine! Thanks so much for joining us at Simon Says Stamp and Show this week! – Ashli 🙂

    Reply
  4. Great texture and love the twine and the sewing tech, Awesome LO and a cutie!!!

    Reply
  5. I love how you used the word bubbles, Evie! So many great details on here. 🙂

    Reply
  6. Love all your speech bubbles, great story for a layout!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

