RSS Feed

A Little Boy

I created this layout of my son, when he was just 7 months old.  Looking at this picture of him in his overalls, reminding myself that yes, he once was a little boy.

DSCN1675

I used the Jenni Bowlin Studio March 2013 Papercrafting Kit in making this layout.  The Jenni Bowlin Studio Quilt Star Punch inspired me to create a quilt for the lower half of the page.  There was so many wonderful colorful patterned papers in this kit that I thought were perfect for the quilt idea.  And I just have to mention that the amazing background paper is by Crate Paper.

DSCN1659

This detail of the quilt shows that I also used the Jenni Bowlin Studio Vintage Stlye Buttons in white.  To give them a unique finish, I brushed on Liquitex acrylic paint in raw umber, then buffed some of the paint off with a paper towel.

DSCN1655

The layered title was made with a Vintage Payroll Sheet, ribbon by May Arts, and Dear Lizzy thickers all from the March kit.

A few other supplies that I used are:  Gesso by Claudine Hellmuth Studio, tiny alpha stickers from Echo Park Paper Company, Archival Ink by Ranger, Tiny Attacher by Tim Holtz, and corner punch from Martha Stewart Crafts.

As of late, I have been doing a few baby layouts.  I had purchased a past baby themed mini-kit, designed by Doris Sander, from JBS and have been working on it as a side project.  This got me looking at baby photos and the ideas started coming.  There is something to be said for not scrapping chronologically…I think.  Layouts are filled with nostalgic feelings and a gentle reminder of how precious life is comes to the surface. 

I have also submitted this layout to the Bird is the Word Challenge Blog.  The new word(s) for this month is He/She/Him/Her.

birdword-button

Have a joyful day!

xo Evie

About artfulscrapbooking

I love scrapbooking, working in collage, card making, etc.

16 responses »

  1. so sweet~ I love the quilt embellishment that you made. It is awesome and the sweetest pic ever:):):)

    Reply
  2. So cute! Lovely quilt design!

    Reply
  3. The quilt design is incredible, Evie!

    Reply
  4. Those buttons are rad, love the extra detailing you added to them!

    Reply
  5. Very sweet LO! Loving those button accents!

    Reply
  6. HI..This is really lovely, the buttons look amazing.. and yes I enjoy going back over photos and scrapping the older ones.. they do create such heart feelings remembering the days when the kids were little… If you want to bird is the word is having a challenge using the words he she him her.. this would be perfect to put in this month!! http://birdisthewordchallenge.blogspot.com.au/2013/05/new-word-s-heshehimher.html
    (I am on the dt.) xx lizzy

    Reply
  7. Adorable page Dear!
    tks for playing with us at Bird is the Word
    xx
    Leila

    Reply
  8. Loved , cute!thanks for joining at BITW

    Reply
  9. Oh so glad you have put this in for the challenge.. it is so beautiful!! Thanks for joining in at BITW!!

    Reply
  10. WOW! What a layout! I love the patchwork and the buttons are just fantastic!!! Great color too!

    Reply
  11. Those embellishments are amazing! Very pretty!

    Reply
  12. He is soooo sweet, they grow so fast, don’t they? I love the quilt squares you created. They are wonderful and add so much to the layout.

    Reply
  13. Fantastic layout! I love your design and the attention to detail in your quilt squares.

    Reply
  14. Love the buttons!
    Thx for joining us at BITW 🙂

    Reply
  15. Lovely layout i love the button embellishments! just gorgeous
    Thanks so much for playing along with us at Bird Is The Word!
    hugz
    irini

    Reply
  16. Loving your quilt and all the stitching. Nice idea to stitch under the small words in your title. Glad you joined in at BITW.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

