RSS Feed

We are oh so in LOVE with you.

DSCN1785

I created this layout for the My Mind’s Eye/Jenni Bowlin Studio Recipe Challenge at JBS Mercantile ForumHere is the Recipe:

  1. Combine at least two MME products to create a unique handmade embellishment.
  2. Focus on the journaling in a creative way.
  3. Get painterly.

I ended up creating three embellishments with the following My Mind’s Eye products:  From the Collectable line: 1 sheet of 2-sided pattern paper (yellow, stripes), acrylic stamps (swirls, flowers, numbers); From  The Sweetest Thing line: 2 die-cuts (1 as part of the title, 1 tucked behind the photo), chipboard (banner flag).

DSCN1791

I created this layered banner flag with the MME chipboard piece and the MME patterned paper

DSCN1796

I stamped with acrylic paint,  the MME stamp on to Studio Calico vellum and added some pearls cut from a JBS Pearl Flower.

DSCN1789

A collage of “sweet” hearts and a JBS butterfly.

DSCN1798

For the painterly technique, I started by painting gesso over this awesome JBS Stamp Kraft paper.  I applied the gesso thicker in certain areas and then stamped an un-inked MME stamp into the gesso, therefore lifting some of it off.  After the gesso dried, I then painted a wash of acrylic paint over it.  I love how the paint seeped into the perferated lines of the paper and the variation of color I got on the page!

DSCN1809

To get creative with the journaling, I used a craft knife to cut open 1,2,3 rectangles in which to house my words.  I thought the background I created looked like an old plaster wall, so to go along with that feel I sanded almost everything on the layout.  I even sanded over top of the journaling!

The JBS products I used: Stamp Kraft paper; Journal block  and label from the Magpie Accessory Sheet; label stamp from the Feb. kit;  “File This” and “Main Street” punches; Alphas, Pearl Flower, sticker.  To frame the page I used a sheet of Elle’s Studio patterned paper from the April kit.  This worked out perfect for the journaling , too!

The gesso, slow-dry medium (which I added to the gesso), acrylic paints, and multi-medium all are from Claudine Hellmuth Studio.

About artfulscrapbooking

I love scrapbooking, working in collage, card making, etc.

6 responses »

  1. I love love love your layout! The effect with the gesso and paint is just amazing and I love the small windows, it gives so much dimension! Thank you for sharing!

    Reply
  2. Cute layout, love the gesso on it 🙂

    Reply
  3. oh love it Evie!!! that looks fabulous!! love all the brushstrokes that show through!

    Reply
  4. This is so beautiful, Evie! I love what you did with the gesso and how it created variation in the color along the perf lines. So cool how you did the journaling under the little boxes too.

    Reply
  5. I wish I thought of painting that label paper like that. awesome look, girl. Love you can still see the lines in the labels where you tear them off. Love the look!!!

    Reply
  6. Evie – incredibly creative! The label paper looks like fabric with the painting …

    Reply

Leave a Reply

