RSS Feed

UFO, done(!) and a crafty tip.

As promised, I am sharing my now updated UFO.  I had finished this Santa album last month during Calvinball over at JBS Mercantile Forum, but just hadn’t gotten to photographing it.  I will begin with the album cover.  Daisy on the cover no more (Doris)!  Click here to a previous post to see the cover in its original state and a bit more of an explanation of what  I am talking about in general.

DSCN1706

To gussy up this basic 8×8 Pioneer album I used some awesome Christmas goodies from Jenni Bowlin Studio.  I started with the red dotted pattern paper, which is the B side of the Christmas 2012 Accessory Sheet, stamped the JBS Perf Marks clear stamp in black ink, and layered on the Vintage Christmas Chipboard Buttons with a bit of ribbon from my stash.  I just had to add the faux stitching with a brown marker and finish it off with the large plaid ribbon that  most likely topped a package from Christmas’ past.

In order not to bore, I’m only showing 2 of the 8  layouts included in this album thus far.  But, just know that I did add a bit of JBS to spruce up each page.

DSCN1725DSCN1730

A little history, behind this project:  Back in, I don’t know, 2005 when vintage was just becoming popular in scrapbooking, I used my Michaels coupon to purchase a K and Company Christmas 12×12 album kit, that came with 12×12 patterned papers and stickers designed by Elizabeth Brownd.  While, I admired this fabulous kit, I never used it.  A couple of years later, I decided to make a small album to hold the photos of my son’s yearly visits to Santa that I could display each Christmas season.  Well, I was in a “use what I have mode” and decide to use the papers and stickers from the  K and Co. kit.  I wanted to do simple consistent layouts so that I would keep up with it each year, but I still didn’t.  Calvinball gave me the motivation to get it done!  Also, although I loved the vintage paper I never quite thought it went well with the photos.   But, when I decided to add the JBS items it all came together for me.  Even though Jenni is vintage, her reds are quite rich and bright, so my JBS additions now connected the photos to the pages.  Yay!!

Okay, so now the big question.  There is still pages left in this album and my son is getting older…hmm…I think we’ll have to start getting the dog involved…maybe that will buy me a few more years??

centipede

And now to complete a Centipede Challenge issued by Betsy, here is a crafty tip.  Cut apart your bling!

DSCN1685

I used the Powdered Sugar(white) Pearl Flowers in the layouts above.  In the first layout, I used one pearl flower whole atop a Red Doily Flower.  In the second layout,  I cut one pearl flower apart  to use the individual pearls to adorn the ornament sticker.  I also cut apart the Maraschino(red) Pearl Flowers and added some of the individual pearls  to some of the Santa layouts not shown.  I love this idea, especially for bling you may have in your stash that you don’t see yourself using as a whole anymore.  The cut apart gems will have a multitude of uses…clustered in the center of a flower, as punctuation, dotted along a border strip, etc.

:D.1,..2,..3,..4       That’s 4 segments for my JBS Centipede!

Thanks so much for stopping by today, xo!!!

About artfulscrapbooking

I love scrapbooking, working in collage, card making, etc.

4 responses »

  1. Adorable book! And I had to giggle at getting the dog onto Santa’s lap! I’m sure that would be a scrapworthy shot 🙂

    Reply
  2. I agree, the book will be a future treasure for sure!

    Reply
  3. What a beautiful record of your holiday tradition, Evie! I love how you added embellishments to the pre-printed designs. It really adds a nice touch!

    Reply
  4. Your album turned out darling!!! Awesome work girl!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

