RSS Feed

No Pumpkin Guts, No Jack-O-Lantern Glory.

  UPDATE:  Linking up to Paper Issues Halloween Hootenanny!  How about some pumpkin guts…

DSCN1424

I had an awesome time making this layout…splashing around watercolor paint on top of the black Bazzill cardstock, creating a jar of pumpkin guts, and layering distressed and stitched spooky patterned paper from  Echo Park Paper Company’s Chillingsworth Manor 6×6 pad.

DSCN1429

I used the exclusive  Mercantile Mason Jar stamp from the Feb. 2013 Jenni Bowlin Studio Papercrafting Kit to make this lovely jar of pumpkin guts.  I first painted the pumpkin guts on to watercolor paper.  I used Art Masking Fluid to create and mask off the shape of the seeds before I began with the orange paint.  When all was dry and the masking fluid rubbed off, I stamp the jar over top with black StazOn ink and trimed out the jar.  The jar label is part of the exclusive stamp, so I used it and some alpha stamps on top of some of the lighter Echo Park patterned  paper, trimmed it out and adhered it to the jar.  After using a bit of twine to finish off the jar, I layered it over these fun chipboard stars from Bella BLVD. 

DSCN1440

For the title, I used awesome glittery green thickers from American Crafts and the perfect little round alpha stickers from Jenni Bowlin Studio.  You can see, in the background, the different effects I got with the watercolor paint.  This is achieved by the varied amounts of water I added to the paint before I began to splash with wild abandon!!

Now,…how do I incorporate this post into the JBS Centipede game?

centipede

Well, Doris issued a challenge to blog your favorite recipe, but I’m not too much of a cook, so I don’t really have one.  Although, if  I’m in the mood, after carving the pumpkin, I will roast the pumpkin seeds.  I just seperate the seeds from the orange goo, now known as guts, rinse them off  and spread them out on a cookie sheet and let them dry.  I then spritz them with water and  sprinkle them with salt.  The water spritzing makes the salt stick ( I think I saw that on The Martha Stewart Show).  Then, I just pop them in the oven for a bit and viola roasted pumpkin seeds that no one ever eats…lol!!  Well, I know you can hardly call that a recipe, so I’ll leave you with one that sounds pretty good and maybe I’ll really try it come Halloween 2013.

Pumpkin Pie Seeds

  • 1 cup pumpkin seeds, rinsed and dried
  • 1/2 t. pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/4 t. salt
  • 2 t. sugar
  • 1 T. vegetable oil

Spread the pumpkin seeds in a single layer on a large baking sheet and roast them in 250 degree oven for 45 minutes or until the seeds are completely dry and lightly browned.  In a large bowl combine pumpkin spice, salt and 2 teaspoons of sugar.  Heat oil and sugar mixture in a large non-stick skillet, stirring constantly with a wooden spoon until sugar melts, about 45 seconds.  Scrape seeds into the pumpkin pie spice mixture and coat the seeds.  Allow the seeds to cool before eating and store in an airtight container.  Makes 3 to 4 servings.

So, now that makes  :D.1..2..3..  segments for my centipede!

About artfulscrapbooking

I love scrapbooking, working in collage, card making, etc.

9 responses »

  1. Awesome LO and great seed recipe. Reminds me of when I was little!

    Reply
  2. very cool~love the jar. Awesome LO Evie!!!

    Reply
  3. Great layout! I LOVE getting ‘creatively messy’ – Beautiful layout – Great Jack-o-Lantern!
    Jasmine
    alittledabofglue.blogspot

    Reply
  4. The jar and your painting look awesome! Great layout, Evie!

    Reply
  5. Love the mason jar and the title 🙂

    Reply
  6. Very fun layout. Love your little jar of guts.

    Reply
  7. I am amazed that you thought to mask off the seeds in the jar! So clever! I love the whole layout, all the splashes of orange look like they were so fun to create. 🙂 Erika

    Reply
  8. something different! very cool layout!

    Reply
  9. This is great! I am always looking for new ideas for halloween layouts because we have a pumpin carving party every year and I have tons of photos to scrap. I roast the seeds too, usually several batches and they are all eaten up. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

