RSS Feed

Look Weeds

DSCN1361

I just love how my son was so enthusiastic about weeding in this photo.  With weeds that big you can tell I am no gardner.  Besides all the sneezing it causes, I just have to use that valuable time for scrapping.  That’s my excuse anyway.   I thought this image of my my son holding the unwanted grasses went so well with the Bingo Card and Seed Packet, which are two elements from the Jenni Bowlin Studio Hodge Podge LOOK Book.  When I  bought the Hodge Podge kit I fully entended to make a mini album with it, but this is the second time I’ve used elements from this kit on a layout.  Check out the other layout here.

DSCN1327

For the “Weeds” portion of the title I was inspired by a technique Jenni Bowlin used on her “Gamer” layout.  She spelled out her title with the JBS Skinny Alphas, inked over and around them and then pulled the alphas up, using them as a mask.  I did the same thing with the Grey Skinny Alphas, only I use some acrylic paint from Claudine Hellmuth Studio to brush over top.   I also, used a few scrappy strips of Wren paper to make a little bundle tied with twine to mimic the weeds.

DSCN1325

Above, I used a few vintage buttons, layering one over a sticker from the Grey Skinny Alphas sheet.  I also, layered a bit of Wren paper over a JBS Plain Chipboard Star and sanded the edges.

DSCN1328

I thought the message on this fortune was the the perfect journaling for this layout!

And now for a CALVINBALL update! – I can’t count this layout, because I finished it right before Calvinball started, but I have never posted it or put it in any of my galleries so, I’m thinking I should be allowed to take 1 pt. for using 5 JBS products and I think it deserves another pt. for using a Jenni Bowlin layout as inspiration!!  Also, I’m taking a pt. for tackling technology, on my last post it was the first time I took an image from another blog, with Ashley’s help.  Thanks Ashley!  Plus a 1/2 pt. for this post!

  • Calvinscraps:  5
  • Calvinblog:  4
  • Calvinbonus:  20
  • CalivnTOTAL:  29
About artfulscrapbooking

I love scrapbooking, working in collage, card making, etc.

9 responses »

  1. Pretty title work, Evie. I love how you included a seed packet. So perfect on here!

    Reply
  2. they totally better waitch out for you and your calvin score!! Love the LO and the seed packet is darling on there. You nailed it!!!

    Reply
  3. Great layout, love the title work 🙂

    Reply
  4. Katie Nolan-Denham

    Great layout! Love the addition of the onion seed pack & your fun “weed” work.

    Reply
  5. What a great layout! I love seed packets – LOVE! Love everything about this!

    Reply
  6. Love how you used ink and stamping. Fun layout

    Reply
  7. great one evie! that onion seed packet is perfect! (i just love the smell of wild onion inn a freshly mown lawn . . . ).

    Reply
  8. Lovely page! Wish I had someone as enthusiastic about weed pulling to help me out…..

    Reply
  9. Great picture of your enthusiastic helper!! Beautiful work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

