RSS Feed

Red Rooster Fair Ribbon

I don’t know if the fair ribbon trend has left the building, but I am still in love with them!  Here is a vintage-inspired “Red Rooster Fair Ribbon” and a few instructions so you can make your own.

DSCN1372

 

The supplies I used are as follows:

2 cut or punched cardstock circles. – Tissue paper trim from a Claudine Hellmuth papercrafting kit. – A Red/Black Dotted Label sticker from Jenni Bowlin Studio. –  A Red Doily Flower from Jenni Bowlin Studio. – A Rooster Flatback from Jenni Bowlin Studio. – Ribbon scraps. – Adhesive: Glue Dots, mounting squares and a tape runner.

DSCN1303

Step 1 – Gather the tissue paper trim into a circle to make a rosette and knot the thread.  If you don’t have a pre-made tissue trim, you could cut a length of tissue paper, crepe paper or ribbon and sew a running stitch along one side and gather.

Step 2 – Adhere  a cardstock circle with glue dots or other adhesive to the back of the gathered tissue paper rosette. 

Step 3 – Layer the dotted label sticker, red doily flower and flatback pin on the front of the rosette.

DSCN1291

Step 4 – Cut varied lengths of ribbon, arrange and adhere to back of rosette with mounting squares or other adhesive.  I left the crinkles in my ribbons to give a more vintage feel, but you could iron or steam yours flat.

Step 5 – Adhere another cardstock circle with a tape runner or other adhesive to sandwich the ribbons and finish off the back.

DSCN1294

A fair ribbon like this would look  lovely on a scrapbook layout, as part of a craft project, on a gift package or framed as a home decor item.

DSCN1316

  I hope you will love making fair ribbons as much as I do.  Get creative and have fun with the supplies you have on hand.  The possibilities are endless!

About artfulscrapbooking

I love scrapbooking, working in collage, card making, etc.

9 responses »

  1. I don’t know if it has “left the building” or not but I still love them. This is great and I have a idea for a page now..hehe..Thank you.

    Reply
  2. This trend hasn’t left my building. LOL! I love them and your layered version is wonderful, Evie!

    Reply
  3. Gorgeous fair ribbon! I am in love with those JB flatbacks!

    Reply
  4. Everyone loves to win a ribbon!!! Love the rooster! Cool!

    Reply
  5. love, love making these!!! This one looks fantastic girl!!!!

    Reply
  6. ashleycalderandthethingsthatshine

    You know I love fair ribbons! Very cool project, love the rooster flat back!

    Reply
  7. What a cute project! That vintage rooster is the perfect touch.

    Reply
  8. What an adorable ribbon. Great layering.

    Reply
  9. Fun idea for a challenge. I love the ribbon you made.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

