RSS Feed

A boy and his…

dog.

DSCN1221

I created this layout for the design challenge in Lisa Truesdell’s  start here workshop over at Two Peas in a Bucket.  I pulled my inspiration from a home decor magazine page.  I took the placement of my photos and the ribbon-like strip running through the middle from the magazine layout.  I like the challenge of working with an inspiration piece.  I think things like, “yes, I want to place my photos exactly like that…hmm, I want to change the title placement and oh, I can cut a strip out of the pattern paper and layer it over cardstock and it looks a bit like a ribbon, but different…I like that”. 

DSCN1214

You can see in the detail above there has been some distressing here!  I started this layout by taking this beautiful sheet of pattern paper called Wheatgrass from Jenni Bowlin Studio’s Wren collection and crumpled it up!!  Then I uncrumpled it and sanded all the folds and creases.  When I got the look I liked, I iron the paper flat between two damp dish towels. 

DSCN1211

Here with the arrow and corners, I used the JBS Stencil Lettering Guide paper as an actual stencil.

DSCN1210  Lastly, but not leastly…I created this fun title by first painting the JBS chipboard stars with Claudine Hellmuth Studio classic teal acrylic paint.  I then layered one star with a JBS red star sticker and letter A, the boy icon is from one of Jenni’s numbered cards and my label maker took care of the “and his”.  If you can’t figure out the rest, hopefully the arrow will lead you in the right direction. 😉

Supplies:  Pattern paper, flag tags, journaling cards, numbered cards, chipboard, stickers: Jenni Bowlin Studio; Lable maker: Dynmo; Photo corners: 3L; Pen: Zig; Star punch: Fiskars; Paint: Claudine Hellmuth Studio; Archival Ink: Ranger Industries; Other: cardstock.

About artfulscrapbooking

I love scrapbooking, working in collage, card making, etc.

17 responses »

  1. Absolutely love the red and teal colors.

    Reply
  2. This is a lovely color combo, Evie! Such a sweet, sweet page. 🙂

    Reply
  3. love how you used the red JBS paper!! Love the look of the page!!!

    Reply
  4. Such a great layout!
    Love all of teal elements!

    Reply
  5. Great layout, love the colour combo and how you added the the stars and also how you made the cute title. TFS!

    Reply
  6. Fabulous layout, I like the stars on top of the ribbon! x

    Reply
  7. Oh how cute! A boy and his dog. I love the crumpled up effect. And love the red dymo label detail. Great layout!

    Reply
  8. They are beautiful papers and color! Love your page!

    Reply
  9. Loving all the pops of teal! Super cute layout.

    Reply
  10. That page is stunning! I love that color combo!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

