RSS Feed

Quick and Cost Effective

I view myself as mainly a scrapbooker.  But,  I do like to dabble in the art of card making from time to time.  Therefore, it is very hard for me to  spend money on store bought greeting cards.  Sooo…,  when I need a card or gift tag I set a timer to create something quickly.  Here is one such gift tag.

 I also decided these quick cards and tags would be a good opportunity to make use of some of my older supplies.  My family and friends don’t know what the latest products are! 

In this instance, I started with a pre-made gift tag that I had purchased in a set a few years ago and added my own embellishments to really make it special.  I started with teal buttons for the owl’s eyes with a bit of embroidery floss.

I combined stamped leaves, baker’s twine and a flower from a trim (who knows where I got that) to make this sweet arrangement, that gives interest to the bottom of the tag.   At the top, I removed the simple white string the tag came with and threaded  baker’s twine and two colors of floss through the hole.   Now this beauty is ready to be attached to a bag or package!

Since, I am a pretty methodical art maker…setting a timer is a challenge for me.  But, I find good things come out of it…like not taking forever to search for the perfect piece of paper or embellishment  and just down right going for it.  I set my timer for 30 minutes…but, if you want to try this and are a faster worker than me try 20 or even 10 minutes.  Also, using up those old supplies is a challenge, too!    It  forces me to use my ingenuity and come up with new and creative ways to use that old stuff.  I find these new discoveries tend to fall over into my other work.

So, YAY…I made a tag that didn’t take much time and didn’t cost and arm and a leg!  Now I can use that money I didn’t spend and buy some new scrapbooking supplies…see how that works  😉 😉

Supplies:  Owl tag: World Market; Pattern paper: Karen Foster Design; Stamp: Inkadinkado; Ink: Ranger Archival Ink; Baker’s twine: Martha Stewart Crafts; Embroidery floss: DMC; Adhesives: Glue Dots, Claudine Hellmuth Studio multi-medium; Other: buttons, flower; Background paper: Provo Craft.

About artfulscrapbooking

I love scrapbooking, working in collage, card making, etc.

14 responses »

  1. What a gorgeous tag Evie, I love it. Fab use of stash and great inspiration for all of us in view of the coming christmas season. Lol, I have a couple of sheets of owl diecuts that would make perfect tags (I love owls too), just need to ponder on how to make them christmassy now!! Thank-you so much for the brilliant ideas.
    Huge hugs x

    Reply
  2. aww this is just way too adorable.. I love this..

    Thanks for stopping by my blog.. I am glad you did so I could come and see your blog.. Awesome creativity…

    Reply
  3. Fabulous idea, great tag too!!

    Reply
  4. Aww, I l love owls! Cute tag!

    Reply
  5. The button eyes really make me smile! Too cute!

    Reply
  6. Love your tag, it is real cute. I try to challenge myself to use what’s in my drawers too, but the timer would freak me out, I am SO slow these days! LOL… 😉
    Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a comment, nobody comments anymore since I post way less often than I used to, so I appreciate it even more… 🙂

    Reply
  7. How cute is this! I need to remember to take what I have and just embellish. I totally love the touch of teal. Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving some love, Evie. So glad you did because I am loving your work!

    Reply
  8. aww I love this little owl…so so cute

    Reply

Leave a Reply

