RSS Feed

My First Challenge!

Hello everyone!!  I’m so excited to share with you a layout I made for my very first challenge!  It is for Jenni Bowlin Studio.

I loved mixing a few of my favorite brights from my stash with Jenni’s vintage inspired products.

I started with some Claudine Hellmuth Studio line gesso on the lovely background paper from Jenni Bowlin Studio’s Wren collection (wheatgrass) and layered the JBS perf. marks clear stamp over it with black ink from Ranger. I also applied Claudine Hellmuth Studio line acrylic paint in a dab of yellow over the JBS alterable micro-dot alphas.

To brighten up the edges of this chipboard frame from Claudine Hellmuth, I used some of the same yellow paint.  I thought this piece worked nicely to bring emphasis to the number seven…the age of my son at the time.  I added real bird feathers, from my own collection, to accentuate the wonderful JBS vellum feathers.

A closer look at one of the beautiful feathers along with some Martha Stewart Crafts baker’s twine and a worded chipboard piece from Claudine Hellmuth.

I really think I like challenges.  They are like  little assignments with the possibilities of prizes!!  Plus, it is a fun opportunity to play with all the wonderful new products out there.   But, really I am just so happy that I figured out how to upload my image to the site (scrapbook.com) and make all the correct links…LOL!  Yay…I’m learning!!!

Thanks so much for stopping by and keep creating!!!!!

Supplies:  Patterned paper, clear stamp, alphas, numbered card, vellum feathers: Jenni Bowlin Studio; Chipboard, rub-ons: Claudine Hellmuth; ink pad: Ranger; Baker’s twine: Martha Stewart Crafts; Acrylic paint and gesso: Claudine Hellmuth Studio; Pen: Sharpie; Other: bird feathers, printer paper.

About artfulscrapbooking

I love scrapbooking, working in collage, card making, etc.

19 responses »

  1. I love this layout evie!!!! the layers and texture are fabulous!!

    Reply
  2. Gorgeous!! The page is so beautifully put together. I love everything about it!

    Reply
  3. Wow and this looks amazing! Your first challenge will definitely not be your last.. challenges are addictive as well as lots of fun and a great way to make new friends.. well done!!

    Reply
  4. What a gorgeous layout Evie, I love it. The background paper you have used is so cute and versatile too, I really must keep an eye out for it. The feathers you have used really finish it off perfectly, brilliant touch.
    Thank-you so much for your lovely comments on my last post, tee hee can you tell I had lots of fun!!
    Huge hugs x

    Reply
  5. I love the feathers and have just used one myself tonight ;-)! Love your layout…

    Reply
  6. Absolutely beautiful page Evie! Thanks for stopping by my blog today–I am so happy to have stumbled onto yours–such wonderful inspiration here!

    Reply
  7. Wonderful layout, Evie!! I love your choice of colors and patterns here. Also the vellum feathers are such a cool embellishment and perfectly complement the photo of your son sitting outside. Have a fabulous day, Dana

    Reply
  8. Yes…those vellum feathers are awesome!! Thanks for your kind observations, Dana!!! xo

    Reply
  9. What a gorgeous LO, Evie! I love the feathers, especially. Such a great idea to have a rotating display case. Love it!

    Reply
  10. Thanks for the sweet words, Marjie!! I’m glad you popped over! xo

    Reply
  11. This turned out so fabulous!!! I love the feathers and how you layered your page together! Great job with the challenge!

    Reply
  12. Love, love this! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

