RSS Feed

Let Your Ideas Take Flight

Ever since I started this blog, I’ve been scribbling  down ideas for posts everywhere.  I write them in my daily journal, my sketch pad, that little note pad in my purse, post-it notes, and basically on any scrap of paper I can find.  So, I decided to create a blog ideas journal to bring the chaos to order!

 I started with a composition book that I purchased at Target for under a dollar.  Then I began to adhere my background paper.  I decided to use gel medium instead of a tape runner, because I wanted this journal to be really durable.  But…I didn’t use just any gel medium,  I used Claudine Hellmuth Studio multi-medium in matte from Ranger!!  Love this stuff!!!  This is the first time I’ve used it and I’m so impressed…it works like a dream.  I have been using another brand for years that I purchase at the art store, but it does not compare.  With the multi-medium your papers and elements lay down flat.  I had like two small bubbles, in which I pushed down for a few seconds with my brush and then put more multi-medium on top and presto…flat as a pancake!!  Also, it dries completely clear…yay!  I had problems with white streaks with the other brand.  Okay, I’m  through gushing, but it is so great to find a product that works and makes creating even more fun! 

 I used the same background paper on the back, called daily news by BasicGrey.  I was pleasantly surprised with the list of bird names in red, since I used the cute birdie stickers on the front from Claudine Hellmuth’s Sweet Shoppe Stickers kit from HSN.  I love when  unplanned things like that happen, which seem to bring a project togther.  It feels like a little bit of magic!

   It’s all in the details…  I cut the yellow and white dotted wavy line (that runs behind the typewriter) from leftover sticker background paper from Claudine Hellmuth’s Super Swell Scrapbook kit from HSN.  I added doodling across the blue polka dotted paper and added dotted lines on the red border strips and other areas on the journal with a marker.  I used the multi-medium to adhere all the elements, including the washi tape and the stickers.  Lastly, I put a final coat of multi-medium over the entire journal, including the spine, so I can take it on my everyday travels with no worries that anything is going come away or apart.

Even though I may still scribble down blog ideas on scraps of paper, at least I’ll have a place to tape them into.  Now, I won’t have to look through all my various note pads, etc. before I begin to create a new post.  Yay!!!

Supplies:  Composition book: Target; Pattern paper: BasicGrey, Claudine Hellmuth’s Holly Jolly Holiday and welcome to swellsville card making kits; Stickers: Claudine Hellmuth’s Sweet Shoppe Stickers, Holly Jolly Holiday,  Super Swell Scrapbook kits; Washi Tape: K&Company Smash; Rub-ons: Claudine Hellmuth’s Rub-On O Rama kit; Marker: Sharpie; Gel Medium: Claudine Hellmuth Studio multi-medium.

About artfulscrapbooking

I love scrapbooking, working in collage, card making, etc.

18 responses »

  1. Evie!!! this is adorable!!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!!

    Reply
  2. Thanks Claudine!!! It was fun to make!! xo

    Reply
  3. What a wonderful idea, and it looks great too!

    Reply
  4. This is so cute! I love the composition and layering. Lovely work!

    Reply
  5. I keep meaning to make a book like that. Looks great! I’m with you as a big fan for the MMM.

    Reply
  6. Ooh Evie, what a fab idea. I love your little blog ideas book, ha ha really should consider something like it myself considering my ‘sieve head’!!
    Thank-you soooo much for your lovely comments on my little journal, thank-you for visiting.
    Huge hugs x

    Reply
  7. i love your journal cover!! that is awesome! thanks for visiting my blog today! i love polka dots too!!

    Reply
  8. o i have notes everywhere too! this is a great idea
    xo

    Reply
  9. Love this cover 🙂 great elements to put together! And a good idea for a journal too 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

