RSS Feed

My Son

Here I am today sharing a layout of my son and I.  If you’ve been visiting my blog you know that I’ve been lost in Paris for some time.  I am still lost in Paris and loving it, but I really felt the need to do a layout about my son, especially since he has been wondering aloud, why I never do layouts about him anymore (poor kid).   Ever since all my scrappy attention has been on my Paris photos, I have detected a hint of jealousy.  CAN you be jealous of a city?

Currently, I am taking Jill Sprott’s class Scrapbooking from the Soul at Two Peas in a Bucket and it inspired me to get a little deeper with my *journaling.  I found by digging a little deeper and telling a little bit more of my story I got the feeling like I accomplished more than just a layout.  Hmmm….food for thought.

DSCN2915 

And here is the wonderful January 15th Sketch from Sketch-N-Scrap that I based my layout on.

543879_323158864493474_1343252752_n

You have until the end of the month to link up for this sketch challenge at Sketch-N-Scrap, where you will be eligible to win a prize from Skyline Paperie and a chance to be chosen as a Featured Designer of the Month.

DSCN2928

*Here is my mushy journaling that came to me as I was looking at this photo of us:  Having you gave me a chance at life.  A life spent enjoying every stage of your growth from baby on up.  Now you are 11 and with teenage years and adulthood seemingly so near, it is the first time I’ve really thought that I wish you could stay, stay the same age, in this time, in this place.  I want to hold you close forever, but I know you must continue to grow and change and live your life.  But, I am your Mom and will always be forever and ever here.

Telling a little more of my story, by going a little a deeper, is one of my goals this year.  But, I know I won’t do that all the time, because I like to keep things light-hearted…I just want to strike a balance overall in the layouts I do.

DSCN2930

All the amazing supplies I used for this layout came from the Jenni Bowlin Studio September 2013 PaperCrafting Kit, which is still available here.  To create the fringe at the top, I trimmed out a strip of the triangles from the Glitz Design Multi Triangle paper from the Finnley Collection and tucked it under the Studio Calico Set Sail paper from the Sundrifter Collection.  I also, bent up the little triangles for added dimension.

DSCN2923

I love these little camera clips by Maya Road and tied two together here to symblolize my son and I tied together with heart strings.  I painted these large cream alphas from Fancy Pants Designs with Claudine Hellmuth’s paint (sky blue + yellow pastel).  I splashed some of  the same paint onto the cute camera background paper, by Glitz, to add some texture to the layout.

So, my current plans are to try and throw in a layout of my son every once in a while as I keep working on my Paris photos.  Besides his hints, I was really missing scrapping about him too!  Again, balance.

Thank you so much for stopping by today and joining in on my scrappy journey.  I love reading about and seeing your journey too!!   Don’t forget to pop over to Sketch-N-Scrap and link up to our fun sketch challenge this month.  Also, there is still time to enter my GIVE-AWAY for a spot in Claudine Hellmuth’s amazing Technique Toolbox class. Just click  here to enter.  I will post a winner on Jan. 22nd.

xo, Evie

UPCOMING POSTS: 

  • Resoluting and Ruminating
  • My One Little Word
  • More Thoughts on Paris
About artfulscrapbooking

I love scrapbooking, working in collage, card making, etc.

13 responses »

  1. I love this! I especially love the story — and that you used journaling cards in place of photos. I have to try that! :)

    Reply
  2. Awww, he’s a sweetheart, Evie. This is a fabulous page! Love the overlapping cameras and the touch of ribbon you added.

    Reply
  3. You did a great job with this sketch ! I’m always struggling with journaling, so good for you to put more on your layout !

    Reply
  4. Beautiful layout, love the mixture of papers, layers and colors! Cutting the triangles from the Glitz paper was genius! :)

    Reply
  5. That’s funny that he missed you scrapping him. Very cute page. I like the arrow with Stay little on it. If only they would.

    Reply
  6. What a sweet picture! And I love all of those products together – looks great!!

    Reply
  7. Great photo of you and your son! If there was ever a city to be jealous of, Paris would be it! :)
    Glad to hear you are enjoying Jill’s class, she did a great job on it and I learned a lot!

    Reply
  8. Great layout! The photo is precious and all the elements you used are a great compliment.

    Reply
  9. Simply a BEAUTIFUL layout all around!! I loved what you did with the photo spots and the special journaling! I could definitely incorporate more of that into my layouts in the future. I tend to lose sight of the real focus of preserving the memories keeping up with deadlines. Fabulous job with the sketch!! :)

    Reply
  10. Such a sweet page!
    I have that class in my cart at 2p’s.
    I love Jill and her videos from last year.
    This makes me think I should just go for it!

    Reply
  11. My son gets jealous too, but mostly of his sister. I love the layout, and the journaling! Such a great class.

    Reply
  12. LOL…too funny about your son being jealous of a city. Gorgeous page. I think you’re forgiven. ;)

    Reply
  13. Loved your page! Great inspiration and colors!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

