RSS Feed

Rue de Bretagne

Hi all!  Today, I am bringing you the 2nd layout in my Paris Series.

DSCN2094

Okay, so this is the 2nd picture I took on our first walk in Paris.  We were just walking and I was taking pictures, so obviously I wasn’t taking notes about what I was photographing.  But now that I was going to scrap this photo I wanted to figure out where it was.  Especially, because this photo shows the gates to a park (on the left side) and I wanted to figure out if it was the park that we later went in.  My husband suggested I Google the hotel and go from there.  The first time I  used  Google Maps I didn’t know how the little arrows worked and I literally (I mean virtually) got lost on the streets of Paris!!  On my second attempt, I got the hang of those arrows and an amazing thing happened…I found almost the exact photo that I took.  Wow, I was excited…it gave me the approximate address of 53 Rue de Bretagne.   As for knowing if it is the park we later visited,  I’m still not sure.  I think the one we went into was smaller and there was a smaller one dipicted on the map.  Also, there wasn’t a name of the park from my picture, the map just says Square Municipal.  You can read in my journalling that I combined the two experinces of taking this photo and later inside a park.

DSCN2099 I toned down the bright MME patterned papers (orange leaf pattern, yellow dotted) with gesso and went crazy with the machine stitching.  I think, it gives the papers the feel of an old quilt or blanket.

DSCN2109

On top of the JBS gray Paris postmark paper, I layered colored pencil lines, gold Color Shine, an arrow painted the same color as the “R” in Rue, and some pleated minty ribbon from my Minty Stash.  Even though I knew I wouldn’t need these lines at the bottom left corner of the layout for journalling, I repeated them here as a design element.

DSCN2110I painted this chipboard frame with the same minty paint I used on the other chipboard pieces in the layout, as well as stamping over the paint in jet black StazOn ink with the OA “Streets of Paris” stamp.   You can see I stamped the “Streets of Paris” stamp on the background in Jenni Bowlin seed packet green.  I just knew I would love this stamp!!!

DSCN2102I created this layered embellishment beginning with the gold leaves.  I heavily misted the top leaf with the gold Color Shine, to give the embellishment more dimension and relate it to the other brighter golds on the page.   I also used the same process on the photo corner in the upper right corner of the layout.

DSCN2105This guy here is from a Me and My Big Ideas sticker sheet called Inernational Stamps.  It is from 2003!  Besides looking like a cool piece of French ephemera to include on this page, I decided he could represent my “man in the park”.  I looked up Jean de La Fontaine on Wikipedia and perfect, he was a French fabulist (a writer of fables) and a poet.  Jean de La Fontaine was born July 8, 1621 at Chateau-Thierry, Champagne, France and died April 13, 1695 in Paris.  I’m sure, in his day,  this literary fellow would find himself enjoying a book in a Paris park.

I would like to share a little creative money saving tip that I used for this layout.  I wanted a dark brown piece of cardstock to layer my page on.  Well, the closest thing I had was a sheet of Bazzill Dotted Swiss tan, so I painted the edges of it with raw umber acrylic paint and placed the layout on top.  Yay!  Also, I have two new Paris pin boards for your to check out….my Paris scraps and your Paris scraps.

Here are the supplies for this layout.  Some of them are from the Jenni Bowlin Studio May 2013 Paper Crafting Kit.  SUPPLIES:  Cardstock: Bazzill Basics; Patterened Paper: JBS Mercantile, MME Collectable and Boy Crazy; Cling stamp: October Afternoon Travel Girl; Chipboard: JBS (button, alpha); Letter stickers: JBS, OA Land & Sea; Jounaling tags: Chic Tags; Stickers: jillibean soup (arrow), Me & My Big Ideas; Metal leaves: Freckled Fawn; Brad: Making Memories; Ink: Jenni Bowlin for Ranger, StazOn; Spray ink: Heidi Swapp; Paint: Claudine Hellmuth Studio, Liquitex; Gesso: Claudine Hellmuth Studio; Marker: Amy Tangerine Slick Writer; Colored pencil: Prismacolor (Blue Slate); Rub-on: 3Birds; Punches: Fiskars, Jenni Bowlin for Fiskars, Martha Stewart; Thread: Coats and Clark; Adhesive: Claudine’s multi-medium, Scotch, 3L; Other: Ribbon, Chipboard (frame, dot).

I hope you enjoyed this Paris Series post!  I am taking a little 2 week bloggy break and then I will be back to bring you more Paris.  I can no longer ignore those little piles of neglected “to be filed” papers and other household matters.  Alotta cleaning and organizing is in order!

Related posts of interest:

See ya soon!!!   xo, Evie

About artfulscrapbooking

I love scrapbooking, working in collage, card making, creating A.T.C.'s, etc.

11 responses »

  1. Wow! This is gorgeous! Well done! :)

    Reply
  2. This is a great layout! All the details! I love that OA map och Paris stamp with this project – you must have been happy when you found it! It was fun reading your creative story! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  3. Such a lovely page, Evie. As always, your little details are incredible.

    Reply
  4. wow, what a gorgeous layout!

    Reply
  5. Amazingly detailed work!

    Reply
  6. Love your pages Evie, so unique and beautiful!!! awesome as always!!

    Reply
  7. This page is so full of goodness! So much to look at! I assume the writing is your handwriting? So pretty!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

